As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims that the use of technology is having a negative impact on the ability of humans to think for themselves. Though it is true that technology comes with its own set of cons I beg to disagree with the author’s argument. The author is highly opinionated and inclined towards the cons of technology, totally ignoring the pros and thus failing to provide a coherent case for the impact of technology.

Firstly, as the author said, the reliance on humans on technology is because of the technology’s ability to solve human problems. Now technology has been equipped with that ability by humans itself. In fact, technology is a brainchild of human beings and their thought process and this completely disagrees with the author’s argument that technology is deteriorating the ability of human beings to think.

Also, when you look at the timeline of technological improvement, you can also simultaneously observe improvement in other fields like science and healthcare. With better technology comes better information which can be used to produce even better results. For example, technological improvements in the field of microscopy led to better imaging of human cells thereby providing a better understanding for scientists. This led to a clearer thought process among scientists and allowed them to go nano and micro level of particles. This proves that better technology and more reliance on technology does not always lead to a weakened human thought process.

Next, as technological developments take place and as humans adopt these better technologies, the standard of living and quality of life improves thus leading to heightened awareness about various things. This increased awareness translates to a better tapping of opportunities thereby encouraging humans to think outside of the box for such opportunity tapping which again contradicts the author’s claim.

The author is considering technology as a replacement for the human thought process. However, all the above examples and many more suggest that technology only complements the human thought process by providing better inputs to humans. After all, human thoughts are a result of inputs given to the brain in terms of prior experience, awareness or other absolute feeds. Therefore I disagree with the author’s argument which holds false in all the above examples