As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human dependence on technology is increasing every day. From smartphones to driver less cars technology has become an integral part of our life. But I do not agree that dependence on technology leads to deterioration in human ability to think. In fact I think it has helped humans to augment their thinking capability.

With advancement in technology people now have more time in their hand to do more important things. Routines that were redundant and required physical labor, like integrated circuit manufacturing, are now done using robots allowing people to spend their valuable time on designing the ic's to be more efficient. This requires the person to think out the various possibilities and find out the best solution. Another such example is the use of computer for data processing in industries like the finance industry. Had there been no computers it would have taken human a lot of time to make sense of the data. With computers the task becomes much more easier to complete thereby allowing the worker to focus on how to put the trends from the data to a better use.This way people are left with time to handle more important issues and developing current technology further in fields like medical surgery where technological advancements can help toward leading long healthy life.

Also the processing of realizing the technology in itself requires great brain storming. Its is however true that sometimes people may take technology for granted, but this no way affects human thinking. In fact it is more important to not think about things that have already been developed, but about further advancements that can be achieved. From the above examples it can be infered that relying on technology does not degrade human thinking capability.