As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has forever shaped mankind's journey on earth. What started with the printing press, radio, and television has made a halt on the Internet. Critics argue that the technology boom was inevitable. Today a whole new generation is born which has never seen a world without the Internet or smartphones.

In many aspects, technology has shaped our lives for the better. Certain tasks like stock market analysis and prediction, weather forecasting, health prediction (like if a tumor is malignant or benign), and street directions are complex tasks. In a world without our modern-day technology, performing such tasks would be an ordeal and in many cases, the accuracy of performing such tasks would take a hit. Having computers efficiently and reliably performing such tasks is a boon.

However technology boon has its consequences. Let us take the case of social media - an online platform where humans socialize. Our society has shown us that many humans have a habit of posting news without verifying the facts. This has severe consequences in our society. The human mind is shaped by miscreants who use such a medium to spread communal tension and hatred. An extreme example is that of the Rohingya crisis wherein many people were led to believe in extremist ideas using social media platforms like Facebook, which ended in the country (Myanmar) seeing a genocide orchestrated by the military regime. Recently, mob lynching cases have also been observed in India, wherein villagers were led to believe in fake news using a chat application called Whatsapp. We can safely conclude from such events that it is easy to plant seeds of communal tension, hatred, and fear using technology.

Finally, for every Rohingya crisis and mob lynching cases there are cases wherein technology has saved millions of lives like that of the recent Odissa floods. Millions were air rescued by obtaining their geolocations using sophisticated technology. Technology has many boons and curses, however in the long term, I truly believe it will shape mankind's journey for better. We should embrace its positive sides and fiercely fight against the negatives. We should remember that technology started with the thought of connecting people not dividing them.