As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue of whether technology is a blessing to humans has presented a huge debate over the years. Whiles some argue that technology has caused a decline in the ability of humans to think for themselves, others posit that technology has resulted in a boost in the ability of humans to think for themselves. However, before we proceed, what is technology?

Technology can ve generally defined as innovations that help to reduce the level of work that humans have to do on a daily basis. Thus can range from a tractor on a farmland to the smartphones that allow us to communicate with one another, regardless of the distance between us.

While it may be clear that technology has caused a decline in the ability of humans to think for themselves, it is also important to note that the contrary is in operation. How's this? Let us use the illustration of Artificial Intelligence. This form of technology has made it possible for computers and machines alike to be able to think and function like humans, if not better in some cases. As such, humans can be able to delegate routine tasks that require less thinking tp these machines and focus more on problems that demand a higher level of thinking - such problems might include ways in which these machines can even be developed better to increase the range of activities they are able to perform. These problems can also extend to include ways by which vaccines can be developed to help cater to certain illnesses that technology on its own have not been able to do.

On the contrary, technology has in its own way contributed to a decline in the ability of humans to think for themselves. In this case, an illustration of our mobile phones will be presented. It is no longer news that most of our mobile phones possess calculators with a wide range of functions. Even with this, the human mind has gradually lost its ability to think for itself - It has become so bad that the average human still reaches out for his or her mobile phone to compute even the easiest of arithmetic calculations. Calculations that would be solved faster if done without the aid of these technological devices, thus defeating the whole aim of their existence.

In summary, while it is obvious that technology has caused a decline, or deterioration so to say, in the ability of humans to think for themselves, it would rather be negligent on our part to be oblivious of the numerous advantages technology has conferred on our way of thinking as humans - or better still, in making our lives a whole lot easier.