As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The technology boom of the 21st century has seen a plethora of human activities automated by machines, mobile applications and several others devices. From simple tasks such as a calendar to highly complex tasks like communicating with people in a different location as yours, technology is becoming part of our culture and the way we lead our lives. Because of this ever-increasing presence of technology in our lives, it is possible for one to think that we are becoming over-reliant and its use might reduce our ability to think for ourselves, but I disagree with this stance. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss three reasons for my position.

Firstly, as technology takes of our daily lives, we are delegating easily automated tasks to technology thereby giving us free time to make more important decisions. A task such as remembering the birthday of a loved one or date of an important meeting might seem easy at first glance, but sometimes can be a burden. The use of calendars, reminders, organizers have taken over several of these tasks and has made it easy for people to use to manage their time more efficiently. While it is true that technology makes some decisions on our behalf, it frees up more time for us to do more important work.

Secondly, use of technology creates problems of its own that requires humans to think for themselves. An example case where the increasing use of communication technology requires development of a robust infrastructure to support it. With the increasing use of mobile phones and similar devices, telecommunication companies and have an ever-increasing problem of supporting its use. problems such as selecting optimal route for laying cables and positioning of towers, arise and requires human beings to create solutions relying on their skills and experience. this example shows that through the pervasive use of technology arises other problems that require humans to solve and in the course of looking for solutions they exercise independent thought through which we try to solve this problem.

Thirdly, the use of the internet presents a unique case. it may seem that the use of the internet promotes unoriginality and banality. through its use, we humans are subject to the views of others. Social media influencers, celebrities, have an ever-increasing presence in the lives of many. many brands use them to advertise their products and it might seem that this restricts the choices of people and their decisions are being made for them. but this in itself presents a need for humans to rely on their thinking faculty. All of the time, there are different companies competing for customers. Potential customers have to make decisions and must be discerning, considering many factors such as cost, quality, delivery time and others, to come to a decision. this example shows that even in cases that seem like humans have decisions been made for them, they still have to exercise independent thought and come to a conclusion .

it is true technology is fast taking over daily lives and we rely heavily on it to solve some of our problems. but the reliance on technology has not taken away our ability to think for ourselves. it has, in fact, made us more in control of our decisions giving us new ways and opportunities to think for ourselves, solve more of our problems and push for growth and development.