following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that an introduction of life like videos games by whirlwind will increase sales of whirlwind video games in the nearest future. it comes to this conclusion based on several assumptions which present a distorted view of the situation. evidence used to come this this conclusion is based a survey of players. However, the assumptions made from the evidence need to be identified before whirlwind can move on with the recommendation.

Firstly, there is an assumption that the number of people surveyed is representative of the whole gaming population. questions like.- how many people where surveyed? what was the method used in the survey? what was the mode through which the survey was carried out?- arise. For instance, the survey could have been done with a sample size of just 100 people. In a case where the gaming population is about 1 million people, the view of these 100 people cannot be representative of the total population. also, the sampling might be biased and only responses from a particular region or a particular sect might have been used. there are usually different communities in gaming and the views of one community cannot be used to assess the views of the other communities. Understanding if the sample of the study is good enough to come to the conclusion that the author did is important, seeing that if the group of people surveyed do not mirror the views of other people in the gaming community can lead to whirlwind making a very big mistake.

Futhermore, the author make an assumption that there are no other lifelike graphic video game vendors that can carter to the needs of the gaming community. was there a study to evaluate; level of competition in the market, level of loyalty of gamers to these vendors. In a case where there is fierce competition in the lifelike graphic scene, whirlwind afre at a disadvantage seeing that that they are new to the market. also, how good is the quality of product offered by the competition? if the completion have great user experience, it would be difficult for a new company like whirlwind to take customers from them. it important to identify this assumption as it play a major role in a case where whirlwind are about to make implementations based off the argument of the author.

In conclusion, it is a great thing that whirlwind are looking for an opportunity to improve sales, but the assumptions that have been identified questions if the proposed route is viable and wouldn’t result in even more loss for the company. Hence, a more comprehensive survey should be carried out not just among the gaming community but also to identify competition and other vendor already in the scene. With results from this, whirlwind can make a more informed decision by considering all factors in play.