As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology: a boon or a curse, a debate which has been going on for the measurable past, is an intriguing one. While technology has surely made our life smoother and easier, it has no-doubt affected the way we think, behave and live as a society. It has impacted our life in a positive and fascinating manner. Nevertheless, as with a coin, it has both beneficial and detrimental effects.

The presence, development and implementation of technology is proof for our ability to think critically and find solutions. The practical implementation of technology requires us humans to think “out of the box” and thus be more creative and original in our approaches. The advent of technological age has freed us from performing mundane tasks such as calculations, filing of tax returns. It has significantly increased our effective and productive while performing daily routine tasks.

Technology has opened up new avenues and introduced new scenario which require us to think differently. For example, excessive use of petroleum products to run car engines and generators has led to ecological destruction previously unknown. It has forced us to redress our inventions and address their ramifications, a whole new field of problems, which before the industrial age was unheard of.

Nevertheless, one might argue, that relying too much on technology for our perfunctory tasks have deteriorated our thinking ability to some extent. For instance, relying more and more on GPS has affected our spatial ability. The innovation of social media portals, for example Facebook, has reduced our daily face to face interactions drastically thus affecting our interpersonal and social skills.

Technology has no doubt affected our thinking abilities and attitudes. It has made us free of worrying about a particular set of problems, while introducing a new niche of exacting problems.