Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

The statement plays on the notion that people should choose which laws to follow and which to ignore based on their own critical thinking and moral understanding. It assumes that people are capable of choosing which laws are beneficial to the society as a whole and which detrimental. However, I cannot agree with this statement completely.

It might be prudent to resist unjust and unethical laws in authoritarian and totalitarian governments like the Nazi Germany. Resisting and revolutions is what brought an end to the oppressive regimes of these kind of governments. Moreover, a soldier when ordered to kill inconspicuous unarmed peasants during an occupation might chose to not to obey the direct orders conflicting with his morals. In doing so he obviously spared the innocent peasants as well as spared himself the mental trauma. Hence, choosing to obey certain laws and to disobey unjust laws based on one's moral compass is wise and beneficial to all parties involved in some cases.

Nonetheless, laws based on collective good of the society which may seem unjust when considered individually need to followed. For example, compulsory face masks among shoppers and shop-keepers during the recent unsettling times of the COVID-19 pandemic are in place for the common good. People with respiratory problems and asthma might face breathing problems and thus chose to not wear the mask. In doing so, they will risk getting infected by corona virus and further add to the problems of worsening pandemic.

Furthermore, frisking and security check at airport, subway stations, malls might seem to increase your waiting times. But these security measures are in place to protect the society against violent terrorist attacks and mishaps. Thus while it may seem more beneficial individually to skip the check and proceed through your chores, when viewed through a macroscopic lens, such laws exist to maintain order in society and smooth its functioning.

Against following societal norms blindly, one might also argue that the morals and ethics of a particular society are so skewed, that the seemingly just laws are in-fact oppressive to the minorities. For example, through propaganda in Nazi Germany, the layman’s perception of jews were affected drastically. They willingly voted the nazi-party to power and paved way for the oppression and genocide of a particular minority community, while individually doing what they thought is just and ethically correct. However, such happenings are very rare throughout the history. One cannot use this as precedence for people to act how they want and take matters into their own hands rather than adhering to the normally accepted societal laws.

Thus in order for a society to function properly and justly, one needs to view through a macroscopic and collective lens when evaluating laws present in it.