To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement attempts to link the major cities and the cultural values it holds within. it might be true that in a developed country, a significant proportion of population live in and around cities. Thus, there will be increased number of social gatherings and various cultural activities with momentous participation. Hence studying them will provide a crude picture of the society's culture. However, even rustic settings are sometimes varied and rich in culture which will be entirely overlooked when focusing only on major cities.

Furthermore, in a predominantly agricultural economy, a major chunk of populace will be living in country houses spread out over large pastural lands. In only city based study of culture, the cultural values of farmers, their social setting and way of interaction will stay in the darkness waiting to be discovered. For instance, festivals based on harvesting and seeding seasons, prevalent in farming households, will be entirely absent from modern city dwellings. The way of farmers per se will be entirely different from how city-dwellers live. The social settings, educational methods, administrative offices of rural areas will not be in sync with that of cities. The true essence of a country, its native people can only be found in sporadically inhabited country regions.

Moreover, the cosmopolitan nature of cities in today's globalized world obscure the native culture. people coming in from different parts of the world bring with them different cultures, values and ethics. The eclectic mixture of social values makes it difficult to pinpoint the city's native values. it also redirects the focus of the study to cultures not originating in that particular city. For example, a Chinatown in new york. it is almost exclusively inhabited by chinese people. The architecture, shops, street food vendors, all cater to the needs of the chinese culture. An academic studying the culture of new york will not be able to develop a comprehensive view of the culture in new york by studying chinese immigrant colonies there. He/She needs to unequivocally focus on colonies carrying the true essence of America.

Therefore, to get a comprehensive and whole understanding of society's cultural values, one needs to not only study major cities but also the rustic country setting. This shall provide us with a better understanding of the culture originating in that particular society.