As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The vacillation between the pros and cons of technology is an active discussion in our hyper technological world. Regardless of position, one cannot deny the ways in which technology has fundamentally changed the human experience. A cursory glance at the average working individual’s day proves this. From commuting to work in an automotive vehicle with an internal combustion engine, to having a work meeting through Zoom on a computer with a microchip processor, the typical human being comes into contact with technology on a regular basis. Such a world would merely be chimerical to society hundreds of years ago.

The proposed statement suggests that technology’s ultimate consequence is rather deleterious. It assumes that humanity’s reliance upon technology revokes our right and ability to be free-thinkers. However, relying on technology does not vitiate our ability to be creative, free-thinking problem-solvers. In fact, the use of technology has created new problems that did not exist prior to technological invention, demanding a need for critically thinking rectifiers and iconoclasts. For example, the invention of automotive vehicles has resulted in increased pollution, affecting the atmosphere in deleterious ways such as compromising our ozone layer and an increased rate of global warming. These challenges could not have been conceived during the days of horse carriages. Free-thinking advocates, scientists, and engineers are needed in order to develop creative solutions that fight back against these obstacles.

This segues directly into how technology has resulted in the unprecedented exchange of ideas. In many cases this exchange has allowed for progress to flourish. As an example, the existence of the internet and websites like ResearchGate has facilitated the exchange of research findings between scientists and permitted their collaboration with one another to tackle challenges in medicine and disease such as cancer immunotherapies and drug efficacies. More impressively, technology has allowed for people of varying disciplines to come together to solve problems. Take for instance biomedical engineering. Years ago, the fields of biology and engineering were perceived as mutually exclusive. However, today people are beginning to see the value in bringing scientists and engineers together to tackle problems in medicine by developing new phages to target bacterial pathogens, and even cancer-infected cells.

Furthermore, it is important to clarify the reason for humanity’s reliance on technology.

While in some ways a person can become overly dependent on technology that may hinder their own abilities (such as a student using a calculator on an exam to perform rudimentary calculations), in arguably more ways we see people using technology because of its remarkable ability to establish convenience. Our reliance on things like computers and the internet have made general research easier than ever before. To get in contact with loved ones, we simply need to dial their phone number and we can reach them wirelessly in minutes. The alternatives to these are time-consuming, tedious methods that have become obsolete thanks to the development of technology.

In summary, humanity’s reliance upon technology is one that will undoubtedly carry over for years to come. It has allowed mankind to achieve the once impossible and to tackle new challenges that do in fact require critical, creative problem-solving. While there are some concerns regarding the over-reliance of technology today, one cannot reject its instrumental role in society and its ever growing influence in the future.