People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human mind is a mystery which we have tried to solve for millions of years , the human behaviour is the very attribute of his/her existence . People are moulded by many external factors which causes them to behave in a certain way, their childhood and upbringing plays a major role in the above statement and agree with it but there are some minor behaviours that are in our control.These next few examples will explain my stand on the statement .

A person has control over his behaviour to a certain extent , one major example which shows that outer forces changes a person’s behaviour is bullying. There are numerous instances of bullying in schools , workplaces, sports etc. the people getting bullied mostly are young teens and their mind is still developing. Childern who get bullied consider themselves weak and sometimes their self worth and self esteem takes a huge hit. This may lead them to take wrong steps and cause depression and anxiety. Many acclaimed sport athletes and actors have confessed being bullied in various interviews , Priyanka chopra who is well known Hollywood and Bollywood actress has said that her bully in school is the reason why her attitude towards life changed. This shows how other people have an effect on ones behaviour.

Another example which plays a major role in the person’s behaviour is the environment they live in.

Many people who go to jail and face its harsh conditions change their behaviour permanently , even when they come out their sleeping and eating habits remain as if they were controlled to do so. People in Texas-USA believe in god immensely and frown upon atheists but in other states like Los Angeles are completely different from the god loving people of Texas. Their life revolves around work and they barely have time for religious practices. Human behaviour is moulded by the society that we live in and the environment the society creates .

Adding to that people also behave differently depending on their occupation , an average person spends almost 30% of his/her life in their workspace. This takes a toll on a person’s behavioural patterns .For example an ex army general has a very regimented lifestyle compared to a doctor or a singer. Doctors maintain hygiene in and around their house, they cut their nails very often where as an ex army general would have a stiff posture and do regular exercise .People change their behaviour according to their occupations sometimes willingly and sometimes subconsciously .

Although majority of a person’s behaviour is affected by external forces some emotions and behaviours are within the bounds of a person’s personal mindset. Their anger , sadness and ability to cope with stress are within their control . But these abilities are overpowered and governed by many external forces, That’s why a person is what he eats and does.