People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people contend that people's behaviors are limited with outer forces, as one has to comply the rule and ethos of the world. However, from my perspective, as the individuals, we are capable of deciding what we are going to do. In the most of time, we are unfettered to determine our behavior.

Admittedly, it's true that sometimes people's behavior is obviously influenced by outer factors. This is because people are living in a society where many rules and ethos have been instituted to make sure the order of it. Therefore, everyone should control their behaviors out of regulations of the society. To be more specific, for living, one has to work every day and complete the workload assigned by their immediate superior, even though most of them are reluctant to be bombarded with endless work for a whole day. Working for living is obviously determined by external factors, rather than following one's own will.

That being said, I have to point out that motivated by subjective purposes and ideas, people have right to behave on their own initiative. In order to pursue noble ideals, people would not only choose their occupations but also the types of lifestyle. You Tu, the owner of the Nobel Prize in the field of physiology in 2015, dedicated her life and much effort into the extraction of artemisinin for treating malaria. She experienced failure for many times to achieve success, which was considered as an extraordinary contribution to whole world. From this case, the factors have not direct relation with her resolution and spirit.

More importantly, driven by kindness and sense of yearning for contribute to others, people would determine their behaviors, even abandoning external factors, such as status, fame and fortune. In this case, one has extreme desire that he/she help others without considering any return. Bill Gates is one of the most lavish businessmen in this world, owning his personal charity trying to diminish the number of death in remote areas and help people in underdeveloped countries who are suffering contagious diseases. From 1994 to 2020, he has donated over 35 billion to needy people. Once, in an interview, he imparted to media that he will deliver all his fortune, not leaving anything to his children. In this case, it's no doubt that he overlooks all external factors and completely select his life on his own.

In a nutshell, although sometimes each one is under limitation of social norms and conditions, people are playing the critical role in deciding behaviors.