People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Why do some choose violence, while others choose peace? Why are some passive in their character while others leap into the fray? The drivers of our behavior are difficult to pin down, but it should be noted that, by no means, are we driven by forces of our own making. In fact, larger forces outside of our control direcly influence our behavior.

Firsly, consider how uncontrolable natural forces have molded members of society. For those individuals living in arid climates, such as the Sahara or Mongolian desserts, life has been observed to be nomatic in-nature as people travel from place to place in search of scare resources: water, shelter, and salt. In more temperete climates slightly above and below the equator, the weather allows for an agricultural base to form. People from these less hostile climates are able to form stable social grouping and build complex societies, often resulting in a better quality of life. It is clear, therefore, that natural forces have a strong bearing on people's behavior, a force that no society has yet been able to control.

Furthermore, the economics circumstances of one's upbringing has been shown to directly contribute to one's character and mannerisms. Within the United States, cross-sectional studies of social groupings - between suburban families and urban families - highlighted a distinct differnce in upbringing. Specifically, the urban families were more likely to be victims of violent crimes relative to suburban families, on a per-capital basis. Furthermore, a longitudinal study of urban teens were shown to be more pugnacious than their subsurban peers, illustrating how prolonged exposure to violent enviornments forces individuals to adapt, embracing violence themselves. From this study, it is clear how one's surroundings - a factor outside of his or her collective control - can shape one's behavior.

Finally, recent discoveries in the field of genetics has revealed how one is at the mercy of our own genes. Alcoholism and gambling are two vices often attributed to addicts with low willpower. However, this assumption may be missing the mark. Analysis of large samples of genomes pertaining to addicts have shown that there are severeal key genetic markers unique to these individuals not found in control populations. The research draws attention to the fact that addicts are predisposed to enter into dopamine cycles than the average individual in society, a hanpenstance of genetic randomness assigned at birth. Thus, the resulst of these studies underscore how forces outside our control influence our behavior.

Some cite "free will" in their efforts to explain people's behavior; in that, all are able to choose their actions freely, and thus no outside powers can influence our behavior. Yet, this view is limited in its assessment of the human condition. People's behaviors are influences by a myriad of outside factors outside our control, including those natural, economic, and genetic in origin. The truth is that we are at the mercy of larger forces in the world, hence why there is such variance in human behavior.