People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

Rules are the binding pillars of any organisation, be it a government or a school. Rules are generally put into effect to maintain law and order and fairness of the authoritative system. However, rules should be beneficial for everyone and should be applicable to everyone equally. Nonetheless, rules should not be blindly followed and remain unchallenged.

There are certain rules that need modification as it becomes outdated. There are certain reservations in the education system in India which reserves a certain percentage of seats for the backward classes for a minimal score in entrance exams to different medical and engineering colleges and universities. This rule was made in the early 80's when there was a community that was considered untouchables and were devoid of equality in education or profession. However, due to social reforms and privileges that were granted to these communities, they re no longer the disadvantaged class. Infact, many such people exploit this reservation of seats as they are required to score a minimal 50% in the entrance tests while others require 65-70% to get into these universities. This leads to degradation of the quality of education in the prestigious universities.

Another example is the demonetization that changed the economy of the nation. After the demonetization was imposed, the government was able to eradicate black money to a great extent. However, this came with a prize as people faced a lot of difficulties in procuring the new currency notes for there was a shortage in supply that lasted almost 3 months. Everywhere,people stopped accepting older currency notes and this lead to long queues in the ATM. There were reports where people died of exhaustion from standing in the queues for the entire day.

The reign of Hitler serves as a best example why rules should never go unchecked. He had the best interest of the Germans, but his orders and laws lead to an almost abolishment of the Jews from the face of Earth. Also, the dictatorial leadership of North Korea has constricted the freedoms of its citizens to such an extent that its almost next to impossible to leave the country.

Hence, government and authoritative bodies are the benefactors of the society and they are the best judge when deciding important laws that need to be executed for they have a better knowledge of what is better for the society. They take the holistic development of the nation into consideration. However, these laws should never go unchecked and should be modified as per the current demands.