People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many at times in life, we are faced with a dilemma or a turning point where we have to make a decision. Such a decision may have much further reaching impacts than we can imagine at the moment. While decision making is best done when we trust our 'gut', most people do not know how to listen to their gut. They are so blinded by the humdrum and pressure of life that their internal feelings get washed out and more often than not, they end up making a poor decision. Such decisions are generally made emotionally, rather than with logic. While there are times where we can make an emotion-based, calculated decision, relying purely on emotion leads our brain to not think clearly and we end up making a erroneous decision. Then there are a set of people, who after having made a decision emotionally, realize that their decision may have far-reaching negative consequences and thus try to justify it by using logic. Such types of people are generally poor decision makers.

Since childhood, most of us are taught to be tenacious and to never give up no matter how hard the going is. An important aspect to realize is that, we must stand by our decisions, no matter the outcomes. Because that reveals the true character of a person. A good decision entails, clearly thought out plans and risks, a logical flow to proceed with the plan and the implementation. Such a decision falls under the logical realm. These kind of decisions tend to be fruitful as most of the risk assessment has been done and hence the outcome can be predictable. On the other hand, a decision made in the spur of the moment due to an emotional imbalance of the chemicals in the brain does not generally promise positive results. Such decisions come in the category of emotional responses. These kinds of decisions tend to leave everything to 'fate' and such people just hope that everything will work out for them in the end. For example, if a business executive has been issued a notice regarding the polluting nature of his manufacturing factories, he can make a calculated logical decision to look into the effluents and waste disposal of his factories and invest to help decrease pollutants in the waste flow, or he can take a spur of the moment decision and try to bribe the inspectors to report false improvements. If the person takes the latter decision, sooner or later the executive will be caught and after that his downfall will be certain. In such cases, if the executive states some banal excuse of not having enough money to invest on a new filtration system or facing some troubles in his life, it would be clear that the person is a poor decision maker as he is justifying his emotional response with logic later on. On the other hand if the person took the former decision, it is likely that he will have a good working relation with the authorities and have a successful continuance of his venture.

While it may seem that the term 'poor decision makers' are attributed to emotional-thinkers, it may not always be true. Many at times a person just does not have to capability to keep his emotions apart. They are so burdened with the 'what-ifs' that they cannot let logic take over. While such decisions may not always turn out to be wrong, the possibility is high. Most people in the world are incline to think more emotionally than logically due to their upbringing. For example, a child who has been molly-coddled right from his childhood will most likely go on to make emotional decisions in the future whereas a child who had a thoroughgoing martinet of a parent, may have much better logical decision making abilities.

Despite the circumstances in life, it is always better to take a calculated decision than a decision based on the turmoils of your 'heart'. Whenever faced with a decision-making scenario, it is a good strategy to think about the scenario in a different language than our common tongue. This enables our logical side of the brain and almost immediately helps us to take a logical decision. Finally, decision making like anything else in life comes with practice. The more a person tries to make decisions, the better he/she will become in taking correct decisions.