All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

In today's world of cut-throat competition, it is necessary for companies and entrepreneurs to keep up to date with the current 'feel' of the industry. More often than not, this preview is better achieved by hiring an external eye rather than an taking an opinion from within. While some may argue that such external counsel is nothing but a gimmick, the results prove otherwise. Despite some short-comings, the view of an external counsel will always be better to get the job done.

Most companies hire external counsultants to look into the issues faced by the company and to provide solutions for them. For example, a startup may start hiring people and a proper record of the hires will need to be maintained. While it possible for the people within the startup to take care of this situation, it is always better to seek help from an outside counsel to provide a better solution. It is likely that whatever solution the company comes up with internally, may prove to be unfruitful in the long run and then migration of all the data to a new system may take a lot of unnecessary time and thus render a huge cost. Most external consultants have the only job of providing solutions to other companies in need. This narrowing of focus helps them to excel in their particular field and thus stay focused on only providing company-specific solutions. Outsourcing of work generally gets the work done better. This is easily understood if we juxtapose the analogy of 'an outside eye is quicker to find problems, than an inside one'. Many people argue that such solution-oriented companies charge exorbitant fees to get a 'simple' job done. What they don't understand is that if they leave the work to a later date, the cost to finish the work then , will be much more than what they will be paying initially. This is a logical point of view which most people do not understand till they are in the situation themselves.

It is the opinion of some that for making a work flow more efficient or for the purpose of the efficiency of the entire company, it would be sensible to take suggestions from the employees themselves. While noble, this is a very quixotic view. Statistically, 60-70% of people hate their jobs and if they were tasked with an additional job of providing solutions to help improve the company's efficiency at no extra remuneration, they would either provide invalid or inconsistent points. Such data does not result in concrete and consistent data points for increase in performance. Rather if an external is called upon, they can look at the organization and it's day to day much more professionally and come up with a more holistic and nonpartisan view, thus saving the time and money of the corporate.

While it is true that external consultants can be much better hires to help improve the company's efficiency, it is likely that these external consultants will charge much more than necessary. Sometimes these prices may not even be justified, yet the outsourcing industry is such a niche that most companies do not have a choice and just end up lining the pockets of the solution-providing company quite handsomely. While the monetary factor may not be such a big stalwart for corporate giants, for budding companies and start-ups, the cost may not be worth the solution especially if they are not sure about the company's future. Then there is the risk of corporate espionage. It is likely that upon being given access to the company's server systems, someone from the 'opposing field' can get access to designs of the company's new product or even their proprietary product and release it sooner under a different brand thus rendering the original company's product useless. While the likeliness of such an incident happening is less, it is probable and hence does provide a risk.

Taking into consideration all the above factors, it is evident that companies need to hire external consultants until a better alternative is found. It will end up much more cost-effective and efficient in the long run. While there are some risks, they are not very likely. Hence it is much better if companies hire external consultants to help improve their efficiency.