People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is an important life-skill and is encountered by everyone at every stage of life, and making these decisions based on logic rather than emotions should always been kept in mind for reaping the best outcomes. Logic and emotions must go hand in hand and form the right balance rather than a mere mechanical framework to get to a conclusion.

Numerous examples could be stated for a case when some member at a senior leadership position went in with his/her emotions at took an irrational decision, might be due to some previous engagement or an emotional connect, which ultimately resulted in the firm facing severe losses and that person coming under the radar and taking the blame. And to top it all, when that person tries to justify for their poor decisions by making up some logic which somehow fits in for the case.

Let's take a scenario, A couple, married for more than 10 years, frustrated with their lives, not thinking about their families and children, took a decision for divorce, just in the heat of the moment, and then justifying it with stress, or piling up of things and numerous excuses which aren't at all justifiable for their specific case, and this decision has had no positives also, just a momentous thing caused their long standing relationship to die out immediately.

Society norms has had a huge influence on the overall decision making at a personal level, and this I believe isn't right at all, having such dependencies to cater to, bounds a person's ability and rationale, and must be ignored at important times where something personal should be taken up.

But, there's another side attached to it, i.e. Empathy. This is what differentiates us from computers and classify as humans. A situation might be that an employee at his office had been under-performing for the past few months and the management had taken a decision to fire that employee, and during the formalities, the Human resources team inquired about the reasons for his under-performance and upon listening to that reason, convinced the management to give that employee a few week's paid leave because he had been suffering from clinical depression, and this is contrary from the logical decision making, but some times, there must be some level of differentiation between functioning mechanically and with empathy, and this is what humanity is all about.

It is pretty clear that logical decision making shouldn't be overpowered by emotions and must curtail to be driven by data, but shouldn't be so rigid that a humanity element is lost and it must be realised that decision making is not a mechanical process where you input parameters and get a decision.