Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technological developments are made with a goal of making our lives better, by simplifying it at any point possible, but this is not what is happening. Technology is making our lives complex at every stage, and we must take strong steps together to put a stop.

We are overly engrossed in technology and this has been counterproductive to a large extent. Let's take into consideration E-mail, considered to be a very productive tool, coming up with the aim of increasing productivity at work and ease of communication, though serving it's purpose has had negative consequences also. Efficiency on paper has been achieved as people less number of meetings have to be scheduled but an empathetic aspect has taken a hit. Also,with the constant urge to keep a check on your inbox,at cost of efficiency, personal lives and mental health has suffered a lot.

With the presence of tools for doing everyday work, our mental ability has taken a severe hit, and we have become so dependant on technology, that we cannot even write a simple spelling, or do a minor calculation, as we are too dependant on autocorrect and calculator. Mental math quizes and Spellathons are some events to be laughed upon, unknowingly, we are the ones causing such detoriation of the society and we must act upon to save it.

Another very popular example could be social media, having a purpose of being connected with friends, at all moments, I cannot recollect seeing more than 95% of my friends on social media in the past month. Anxiety and depression has kicked in your children, just because their instagram post didn't get enough likes, and the whole essence of being connected with friends has long been disappeared.

These were just some of the things that had happened in the past, but let's not forget what the future has in store for us, but with new and upcoming technologies like Artificial Intelligence and Virtual Reality, we don't even realise how deep we are in this this quicksand of technology ad how technology would ultimately overpower humans and we would be in no place to stop it.

Technology is important, if used in a right proportion, by the right people, and at the right time. But, care needs to be taken so that we have the controlling ability for technology and not vice versa. Email, Calculator, Social Media and now Artificial Intelligence, all are pioneering innovations and we must thank the organisations for developing them and must have a control over our usages with them.

Keep in mind that all these innovations had a goal of making our lives easier, and not cause distress in our lives. It is who we are as humans that is causing these complexities and we must form a commensurate balance between technology and our lives to reap the most benefits