"People who pursue their own intellectual interests for purely personal reasons are more

likely to benefit the rest of the world than are people who try to act for the public good."

It has been proven that being occupied by one particular task is more productive than more than one but, when public benefit in concerned, the above fact gets contradicted. Acting for the public good is the best approach, how people can benefit the world. Yes, the later approach can be slower in as much as may have to overcome numerous barrios but the return always tends to be satisfactory.

First of all, although working for one’s own personal reasons can be more productive and fast in the domain of achieving success but when public good comes into consideration, I believe that a slower approach is required, keeping in mind the needs of the society, problems and working together in order to achieve sustainability. The later approach though required more time but cannot be undermined in terms of public prosperity. For example, a person has developed a piece of portable equipment to make dirty water drinkable which can come in handy in the flood affected areas but, since he has not considered the actual scenario of the region, the equipment happened to be very costly and is beyond the affordability of the local people. The invention, though made for the people's good, did not succeed in it assigned task only because the developer has not considered people’s actual need with alacrity, as he was preoccupied with developing an effective and portable water purifier.

Secondly, working for public good put forward numerous barriers which are required to be overcome. These barriers are nothing but public problems and working for public means removing such barriers. Therefore, if a person work for his own personal interest, and think of doing good to the public, how can possibly that happen without considering the public interest?

Working for public good always includes a number of intellectuals, professors, scientists, human resource personals, environmentalist, politicians etc. It is clear from here that working for public good include more than one sharp brain, indicating the feasibility and effectiveness of the group. To bolster the claim that decisions taken through discussions are better, a good example would be the USA, a democratic country where decisions are taken over discussions, happens to be the first superpower of the world. Another example can be cited about India, another democratic country, is now considered the fasted growing country of the world.

Working for public require more than one sharp mind hence always results in a better decision, better approach and a better efficiency. Even if the working for personal gain is speedy and sometimes might also add in the favour of the public good but such achievements will be less profitable for the public as such approach rarely logs public interests.