People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Attitude can be defined as how a person behaves and interacts with others, and it would be an understatement to say that there are a number of factors that affect people's attitudes. Some say that attitudes are determined by the immediate situations a person surrounds him- or herself with, whereas some contend that the cause lies in the impact of the society overall. On the surface, both arguments seem plausible, but I agree that close surroundings have a greater influence on people's behaviors.

Admittedly, society plays a pivotal role in people's attitudes because as members of the society, people cannot avoid being affected by whatever occurs within that group. If the government decides to raise the interest rate, wage war against another country or enforce a new law, the nation's reaction of shock or bewilderment cannot go unnoticed. In some way, big or small, what happens in the society affects every person's life, inducing one to look at the world with an altered viewpoint. Even if the occurrence of an event doesn't impact people directly, they anticipate about the ripple effects that will ultimately cause changes in their lives. Therefore, people's attitudes are indeed influenced one way or another by acts in society.

However, the aforementioned support does not warrant the claim that immediate situation or surroundings have a lesser effect on attitudes. The close environment people surround themselves with have a much significant impact on their lives, because they have a tremendous effect on their feelings. Emotions change constantly, at every moment, and they are the driving forces one's attitudes. For example, if a person has just had a dispute with a colleague about a work matter and hasn't resolved it yet, he or she is likely to be frustrated with continuing his or her work. If, on the other hand, the company has decided to give raises for its employees, that person will feel better, and be much eager to work assiduously. People's feelings are critical factors that precipitate an alternation of their attitude, and these feelings are more greatly affected by immediate surroundings than the society.

Another close environment that affects people greatly is their familial background, namely, their upbringing. If people are raised in a loving household, it is highly likely that they will retain a sanguine outlook on life, and be more cordial to others. On the other hand, for people whose childhood experiences are limited to abuse and neglect of their parents, there is a high possibility that they will view the possibilities of future happiness as bleak. It is liable to cause them to hold unnecessary grudges against other people and show a hostile attitude when something small goes wrong. Familial background is important because it is the main element that forms people's perspectives, characteristics, and their attitudes. It lives with them forever.

In conclusion, even though society does play a vital role in people's attitudes, it has a lesser influence that immediate surroundings. A crucial part of a person's characteristic, emotions and familial background, impacts one's attitude towards others, and they should be looked at carefully.