Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The development of technology has brought about a revolution in the teaching methods at schools; teachers today utilize various tools such as videos, computers, and the Internet to better efficiently transfer knowledge to students. However, some people are apprehensive about using these measures because they claim that they are distracting students from real learning. At the outset, what they are asserting seems convincing, but I disagree to this notion, and believe that technological innovations have indeed improved teaching methods in schools.

Admittedly, the use of alternative methods, other than the conventional method of teaching using textbooks, can be more harmful than beneficial if used excessively in class. For example, watching videos can more easily induce a person's mind to wander, to think about a fun movie or TV show he or she watched previously. Also, there are numerous amounts of distractions on the Internet that tempt students from focusing on class material. They can surf the Internet and log in to their social media accounts without the teacher's knowing, because the teacher would normally be standing on the opposite side of the screen. Unless there is a clear and strict method to spot these deviant behaviors, technologies can lure students away from actual learning.

However, using technology wisely can benefit students' learning experience. The traditional way of education is mainly focused on the teacher delivering knowledge to students who mostly sit idly on their seats listening to the teacher drone on about class material. Even if they are interested in the subject, they are likely to get bored of the dull orthodox way of teaching. In this situation, the adoption of new technology in the classroom can be an effect way to engage the students. For example, if the topic is about volcanoes, rather than listening to descriptions about how volcanoes erupt or looking at pictures in books, actually watching a documentary about volcanoes could be much more informative and intriguing to students. If the right tool is used at the right moment, students will concentrate better and learn more in class.

Also, technological innovations have allowed students to gain knowledge on their own. There is an abundance of information on the world wide web, and when people become curious about a certain topic, all they have to do is go online and search the keyword on a search portal. In school, using a computer and the Internet can actually help students become more immersed in subjects they're interested in. For example, if a student learned about the American Civil War, but he or she wasn't satisfied with how much the teacher lectured on the topic due to a lack of time, that student can simply search for more information online. It may even be possible for him or her to share the facts found online with peers in the classroom, allowing for a more intensive learning.

In conclusion, if abused, technological innovations can indeed to more harm than good in methods instructing students. Nonetheless, I firmly believe that videos, computers, and the Internet offer educational institutions with the chance to provide a more immersive education. Furthermore, students will be able to gain more knowledge if the technology used prudently. Therefore, these technologies do indeed improve the teaching methods in schools.