The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to

do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any

of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Most parents desire to see their children reach excellence and have high expectations for their children. In fact, some parents send their children to cram schools before their children are even old enough to enter primary school, so their children can stay one step ahead of their peers academically. However, high expectations do not automatically guarantee high performances because performance is correlated with effort, not expectation, and the definition of a high performance varies from person to person. In addition, People only endeavor when they see the purpose of their hard work. Therefore, holding high expectations for someone does not signify welcoming achievements from that person.

Although students struggle at school for different reasons, many of them struggle because they do not put in the effort to study and revise the knowledge that they have acquired at school. Some students prioritize entertainment over their academic performance and would rather play video games than finish their homework. Others might procrastinate and leave their revision until the last minute. Parents could hold high expectations for their children, but if their children are not willing to put in the effort to study, their children will not achieve well at school and parents will not receive favorable report cards.

A key to motivating people is incentives, not expectations. Instead of expecting children to study hard, the carrot and stick approach (positive and negative incentives) is a more practical method to encourage children to study harder. Parents could reward their children with toys or a trip to the cinema to encourage them to aim for higher grades, and they could confiscate children’s phones to prevent the phones from becoming a distraction. Instead of simply expecting children to produce strong academic performances, parents should use positive and negative incentives to encourage or force students to study.

Some may argue that children would naturally obey their parents and aim to satisfy their parents’ expectations. However, nowadays children are encouraged to think independently, and their parents’ expectations might not be the same as their own. They might not strive to satisfy their parents’ expectations because they have their own goals, despite their parents holding high expectations for them. In conclusion, expectations do not equate performance, and incentives are essential for people who hold expectations for others to gain desired results.