The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges
faced by the leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities
Most leaders that went on to achieve greatness where shaped by challenges and hurdles they encountered which in some
case had little or nothing to do with their expertise.
Hurdles come in different shape and complexity. There are situations that a leader encounters that all his training
can't comprehend. War and Conflict are issues that most leaders pray against but sometimes are inevitable and no
form of training acquired can ever prepare a leader to lead a country in times of war simply because war are unpredictable.
With all the expertise the Japanese political leaders had during world war 2, it didn't shed light on the onforseen doom
of the atomic bomb which practically lead to their surrender.
Challenges faced during a leaders tunre inn position tend to shape him or her into how him or her perceive or the world
around which in turn affects his leadership decision. A war afflicted country can make or mar a leader which respect to
the direction he or she takes. If he pursues peace and goes through years to trying to resolve the tension on both side of the
war, he comes out a changed man who has been through challenges that skills could not handle. Nelson Mandel has been praised as
one of the great leaders of our time simply because of how he handled and managed his opposing sides of the Apartied regime. His
Law degree did not train him for that but rather 27 years in prison facing various challenges ranging from family challenges to
survival which in turn shaped him to be the great leader we all idolize.
It is true that skills and expertise can contribute to a leaders' greatness but there are unforseen challenges and issues that
expertise can comprehend but rather a matter how that leader manages that scenerio which can lead to a leaders' greatness.