Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Having a clear path to your goal creates diligence and focus leading to excellent results. Students should be required to take the relevant courses needed for their field of study.

Focus and diligence are keys to success. By universities placing a limit on the courses taken with respect to their respective fields, students can thus be more focused on just what is required to excel in their field of study without distractions from other courses that would add little or no value to their careers. Imagine an engineering students who hasn't fully comprehended engineering mathematics courses having to deal with art classes, and at the end of the day, would only be thinking about his failing grades. Focus and diligence creates a clear path for success leading to a better future for the students.

Time is highly precious in a students life and vastly needed. Taking less courses creates valuable time for students which if managed can lead to academic excellence. A student taking only relevant courses can be able to use his or her spare time to comprehend what was already thought or take a good rest and a hectic day. Spare time with great management can turn a C student to an A student.

Though it is true that more courses yield creativity with respect to the students and also creates an opportunity to explore something different from the norm which can be refreshing. Like having a music class after a day of chemical experiments.

Streamlining a students course work would lead a better academic performance for the students.