"The powerful are most respected not when they exercise their power but when they refrain from exercising it"

Write an essay in which you develop and support a position on the statement above. In writing your essay, you should consider both when the statement may be true and when it may be false.

Power can be defined in many ways : it could be the power to proselytize , power to voice out one's thoughts or it could also mean the freedom and privilege one enjoys due to the position status or ranking.Often people might argue that it is a good thing to use the power one has.This is true if it is for the advantage of all and not for greed or to disdain others. However it is seen that respect and support is drawn more when people refrain from exercising the power though they have it ;this proves their honesty and candidness towards their position of holding power. Therefore people mostly respect those in power who refrain from than to exercise it.

As we look back into the Indian history of the freedom struggle , Bhagath singh is a popular name which everybody remembers for his shrewdness , valor,enthusiasm and strength. He was a very powerful leader. People respected him for his patriotism and the determination he had towards freeing India, people respected him for his enthusiasm and audacity he showed in his actions by bombarding the parliament to evoke fear in the Britishers. He had the power of intelligence to incite jingoism among people to fight against the slavery and stand upfront for their rights with courage. He was respected more because he had the knack to put his power to use and for the benefit of people, though he followed "violence".

In contrary , we have seen how Gandhiji, one of India's most efficient , amiable and respected freedom fighter, followed "Ahimsa" -non violence and "sathyagraha"-honesty. He was indeed powerful ; people respected him to the core and were effusively ready to support him and follow his actions. Though he had all the power in form of support and respect, he still followed very subtle ways of freedom fight. He had all the comforts but he refrained to use them and be austere. He could have initiated a violent attack or a formal war with the power bestowed in him, but he decided to refrain from it and follow a non violent method , teaching people to refrain from exercising power on to others , whether they are stronger or weaker .He refrained from every advantage he could take and followed the path of candidness.

Similarly, we come across many such incidents in our daily life where a murder convict is a direct relative of a powerful politician or a wealthy business tycoon who hold a great power of their position, for whom it is easy to make the convict escape the charges with all the powerful influence they exercise to exonerate .This is highly despised by all. But there are many honest people holding a powerful position in means of rank ,wealth status or designation who refrain from using these powers of their position and still adhere to the law to bring justice and redress the wrong. Such people are respected more for their honesty and strength to refrain from exercising the power to their advantage.

ultimately, it is clear that people support those who refrain from exercising power but on the contrary it is also true that people support those who use their power for the right things and for the betterment of the people and nation and not merely for one's own use ; to enjoy the power they have , or to show superiority over others who are not powerful.Hence power is respected when exercised for the betterment and also when refrained for the betterment.