The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Since the technological boom has taken place since the beginning of this century, the calculating ability of a single computer chip is hundreds, even thousands, times more powerful than one produced ten years earlier. In addition to sheer strength, users experience has also plucked up since it is a important criteria to the customers when purchasing software. The prompt suggests that people's thinking ability will decline as technology flourishes. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this suggestion and argues that people's ability to think will be robust, if not improve, as the result of the technological advancements for two reasons.

Although technologies bring convenience more than one can imagine, and some argue that laziness drives human innovations, there is no way it is making us a less intelligent species. It is common that students use their calculators in classes and examinations instead of listing lines of equations in their notes, which admittedly lowers their ability to calculate by heart. However, this practice also releases the students from getting stucked in petty details and encourages them to have a firmer grasp on the big picture, or the general idea that the teacher is conveying, which is of a much higher priority. The above example illustrates that the usage of technologies in life is highly contingent how people weigh in the pros and cons, and it will usually be more beneficial than harmful.

Further, the technology is merely a tool for us to acquire higher level knowledge and intelligence. As the field of AI (Artificial Intelligence) is becoming the alleged future of the whole field of information technology. It should be taken into account that the amount of time, efforts and brilliant ideas of hundreds and thousands of the most intelligent individuals in the world to acquire that goal. So this pursuit for having the computer to imitate how human think and acts is actually urging people to ponder deeper and in much more complicated ways than ever before. It is common that a birth of a state of the art technology advancement that will benefit the whole world requires throng of people to contribute their ideas to construct and polish it. The value of the amount of thinking it inspires will surely surpass that of the amount of repetitive work it relieves people from doing requires. Moreover, looking back at all the steps we took to improve our science and technology, we can be certain of one reality. The history tells us that we will keep making something new and not be satisfied by our current situation, which all the more certainly will entail an increased intelligence or accumulation of knowledge on what we already have.

Technology, defined by its commercial traits, will keep on its endeavor of helping people get rid of mindless repetitions in everyday life, attracting more and more to rely on it. However, by providing human with more opportunities to pursue that endeavor, it will certainly not erode our ability to think for ourselves.