The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the prompt, the president of Humana University suggests that this institution should follow the method of online learning just like what was done in Omni University last year to alleviate the enrollment shortage and budget deficits. While the president's suggestion might hold true, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not properly substantiated, dramatically weakens the argument given.

First of all, the president of Humana University assumes that the increment in Omni University's online enrollment points to a increase in its total enrollment number and that Omni University does not suffer from a shortage of students supply. It is possible that while the online enrollment in Omni University grows, the total number of its students decrease because of its shift of focus from off-line teaching to online teaching which discouraged a lot of students who do not believe in the effectiveness of online teaching. Or, perhaps its ageing facilities and limited space limited it capacity to enroll more student offline. If either of these two scenarios proves true, then the assertion of the assumption is significantly weakened.

Second, even if the total enrollment of Omni University does increase, it does not guarantee that online learning cost will be lower than the reduction on expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. There is the potential that online learning will cost more and impose a much heavier burden on the school's already deficient budget. For example, setting up servers and recruiting IT related engineers to help setting up websites and environments as well as keeping the online courses running smoothly all requires an extra expenditure. This may be much costlier than it sound. If this proves true, then the president should really consider put more money on improving the basic facilities and may be get sponsors to help the university thrive.

Finally, a stable enrollment number does not indicate the university is not improving. Perhaps that online learning have been working not so effectively as expected at Omni University and the reputation of the University may be damaged. For a more prospective development of the institution, the school board should really look into the actual validity of implementing this way of teaching and research the attitudes of the teachers. If the online learning cannot help the students or the school on the long run, then the suggestion may prove to be more of a bane than a boom to Humana University.

In conclusion, while the president may have come to a sound conclusion regarding the future focus of the university, more data and investigation is required before a firm conclusion is formed. If the president can fully validate the above three assumptions, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of this argument.