The purpose of an education is to prepare students for financially rewarding careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education plays a vital role in development of any individual. Not only getting education is important, but it is crucial to get the correct and valued education. The author states that the purpose of education is to prepare students for financially rewarding careers. I disagree with the author's opinion and I believe that there are serious flaws in his opinion.

The amount of money should not define a person, nor should decide if the person is successful or not. There is no relation between the happiness of a person and amount of money he earns. What education must teach students is to find a way to do things that make them happy. Variety of things can bring people happiness. Many people prefer to do charity and donate their earnings. This act of philanthropy brings happiness to these people. For example, many people such as music virtuoso Akon has donated most of his salary to the impoverished citizens of Africa and has helped in the development of poor African nations. This example clearly contradicts author's point that the purpose of education is to have a financially rewarding career. Hence, to re-affirm I believe that the purpose of education should be to become a successful and happy human being.

Furthermore, students might themselves prefer a career path in a field in which they are proficient but which might not be so financially rewarding. According to author's position such a career path might be considered of low value. This might have an effect on student's thinking and might hinder their so-called abilities or talent. If a student wants to prefer an unorthodox, low-earning career path, he must be encouraged to do so. Many such careers such as teaching and dancing do not earn a lot of money, but are regarded with huge respect. Hence, the purpose of education should be to make students follow their passion and help them become professional in whatever field they wish to.

However, in a world of cut-throat competition, it is essential to earn money. It is obvious that without money one cannot survive. Hence, the education system should teach students ways in which they can earn money. However, such ways should revolve around student's career choice and should teach him or her ways to earn money in their career field. Hence, although education should teach students financial independence, it should not become the primary purpose of education.

Right education is a gift to a student's talent. Hence it is important for a student to get a valued education. To conclude, I believe the author's opinion is incorrect and I disagree with him. The primary purpose of education should to be hone the skills and talents of kids and help them towards the career path of their choice.