Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The world is advancing and globalising at an unprecedented rate. The author suggests that colleges and universities should require their students to study abroad for at least one semester. However, he has failed to realise many important factors which can be an hinderance to the suggested policy. Hence, I firmly disagree with the author and I believe such a scheme would be not justified.

When a person moves to a new country, it takes him a certain amount of time to adapt to that place. The person has to adjust to an entirely new culture, weather conditions, cuisine, language etc. Apart from this, he or she might even find it difficult to interact and make new friends. Often it requires a significant amount of time, typically one to two months, to overcome such problems. Since, the fact that a semester is just four months, half of it would be required to adjust to new conditions. To illustrate my view point, consider a student studying in a regional college in south India. He is proficient to the local language of his state, has his food preferences sorted and is accustomed to the hot and humid weather conditions of the southern India. If he is sent to Norway or a similar colder country, various problems, such as the communication problems, surviving cold Norwegian temperature, and adjusting to a completely different type of cuisine, would arise for him. By the time, he overcomes such problems, he would already have been halfway into the semester. Therefore, owing to the above explanation, I believe, it is not reasonable or justifiable that universities and college should require their students to spend at least one semester abroad.

Another important issue that author did not take into consideration is enormous amount of wealth it requires to study in a foreign country. Unless a scholarship is provided, studying in an expensive country such as Singapore or the United States could cost up to 12-15000 USD. Looking at the issue from perspective of a student in a relatively poor nation such as India or Brazil, it could be extremely arduous for the student to accrue so much money. Hence, I stand on contrast with the author and I believe such a policy could cause a great deal of trouble.

Moreover, it is known that the teaching methods vary greatly over the world. A student is inured to teaching method of the country he has been studying in, since his birth. Further, when a student moves to a foreign land with different tutoring methods, it can be really difficult for him or her to grasp the concepts. This can cause the grades of the student to decline and would produce a result contradictory to what was expected of the student.

However, the world is becoming a global village. Global village here signifies that people are working in various countries and are engaging with people belonging to an entirely different cultures. In a society which is moving towards globalisation, it can be an upper hand for a student to have an international exposure. Hence, if a student wants to move abroad to study for a semester or two, he should be encouraged. However, such a policy should not be mandated.

Therefore, I hold my viewpoint that mandating students to study in a foreign country for at least a semester is unreasonable and the cons could easily outweigh the pros of a semester abroad program.