Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that in order to enable the graduates of Omega University to secure better jobs, they should terminate the student evaluation of professors. However, the author makes this conclusion based on incomplete facts and his argument is rife with assumptions.

The author states that the faculty at Omega University have begun to assign higher grades to the students and the employers believe that grades of the students are inflated. Therefore, author is in favour of terminating student evaluation of professors. But, the author failed to analyse the reason why professors have started assigning more marks. It is possible that upon receiving the feedback from students, the professor modified their teaching methodologies for the better and it helped the students to get a better understanding of the topic being thought. As a result of which, the students scored higher marks and obtained better grades. Therefore, removal of such an evaluation process could be detrimental as the faculty won't get the valuable feedback.

The author makes a comparison to a nearby university named Alpha University. He looks into the fact that graduates from Alpha University have been more successful in obtaining jobs. However, he has failed to consider other differences between the two universities.

Perhaps, the students of Alpha University are in fact more scholar than the students of Omega University. The author hasn't even ascertain that whether any student evaluation of professor occurs in Alpha University or not. Therefore, his comparison is inadequate the author must conduct a proper survey to find out the reason why more graduates are securing jobs at Alpha University. Only, if he does so, he can prove that scraping out of the evaluation policy would help.

Furthermore, in this scenario, it could be the fault of the employers to assume that the grades at Omega University are inflated. Hence, the University might not be the one to be blamed. And, if this fact is true, removal of the evaluation and feedback policy could be of no help. In this situation, the administration and placement department of the Omega University should explain the employers the cause for increase in grades of the students.

Of course, for a university, it should be a primary concern to increase the number of students getting placed in each academic number. The author suggested removal of a previously implemented policy believing that it will increase the number of students getting placed. However, his argument was full of assumptions and without a finding a cogent reason for the decline in number of students getting jobs, his suggestion could be ineffective.