As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of
humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain
your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your
position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not
hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
The statement linking technology negatively with free thinking plays on recent human
experience over the past century. Surely there has been no time in history where the
lived lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day
reveals how technology has revolutionized the world. Most people commute to work in
an automobile that runs on an internal combustion engine. During the workday, chances
are high that the employee will interact with a computer that processes information on
silicon bridges that are .09 microns wide. Upon leaving home, family members will be
reached through wireless networks that utilize satellites orbiting the earth. Each of
these common occurrences would have been inconceivable at the turn of the 19th
century.
The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the ability
for humans to think for themselves. The assumption is that an increased reliance on
technology negates the need for people to think creatively to solve previous quandaries.
Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without a car, computer, or
mobile phone, the hypothetical worker would need to find alternate methods of
transport, information processing, and communication. Technology short circuits this
thinking by making the problems obsolete. However, this reliance on technology does
not necessarily preclude the creativity that marks the human species. The prior
examples reveal that technology allows for convenience. The car, computer, and phone
all release additional time for people to live more efficiently. This efficiency does not
preclude the need for humans to think for themselves. In fact, technology frees
humanity to not only tackle new problems, but may itself create new issues that did not
exist without technology. For example, the proliferation of automobiles has introduced
a need for fuel conservation on a global scale. With increasing energy demands from
emerging markets, global warming becomes a concern inconceivable to the horse-and-
buggy generation. Likewise, dependence on oil has created nation-states that are not
dependent on taxation, allowing ruling parties to oppress minority groups such as
women. Solutions to these complex problems require the unfettered imaginations of
maverick scientists and politicians.
In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human
imagination. Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the internet has
allowed for an unprecedented exchange of ideas. WebMD, a popular internet portal for
medical information, permits patients to self-research symptoms for a more informed
doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways of thinking that were previously closed off to
the medical layman. With increased interdisciplinary interactions, inspiration can arrive
from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the architects of the UN
Millennium Development Goals, based his ideas on emergency care triage techniques.
The unlikely marriage of economics and medicine has healed tense, hyperinflation
environments from South America to Eastern Europe. This last example provides the
most hope in how technology actually provides hope to the future of humanity. By
increasing our reliance on technology, impossible goals can now be achieved. Consider
how the late 20th century witnessed the complete elimination of smallpox. This disease
had ravaged the human race since prehistorical days, and yet with the technology of
vaccines, free thinking humans dared to imagine a world free of smallpox. Using
technology, battle plans were drawn out, and smallpox was systematically targeted and
eradicated. Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of
fire to the implementation of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race,
there will be no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle.
There is no need to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a
hopeful posture to the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human
imagination.