Question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.

The recommendation suggests that one should question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom will we be able to advance our understanding. I agree with this recommendation. It is said that us humans, just use around 14% of our brain capacity. If we can achieve so much knowledge, progress and advancement just by using 14% of our brain capacity, imagine what all we can achieve if we use more of it. One way to achieve a profound understanding of the world is to question everything around us. Instead of simply accepting and following theories or wisdom, we must use the five ‘W’s. Who? What? Where? When? How? Only questioning existing theories will we be able to deeply gain an understanding of the world around us. This deep understanding can take us on journeys that might end up changing the world.

We must question authority. If teachers, elders, scientists etc say a certain statement then we must question them. No, this doesn’t mean that we have to be disrespectful and repudiate everything they say. By questioning, we will understand the reasons for their statements. This will increase our cognitive abilities. For instance, in school, if students do not question a teacher when she says that the sky is blue, then will never understand how different light phenomenons occur for the sky to be blue. This statement will just end up being one of the million things that we forget. We will never understand how physics, chemistry, biology is all around us. We must ask ourselves, Why is the sky blue? Why is are some flowers pink while some are yellow? How do they get this color?

If you notice, questioning mundane, everyday things and phenomenons around us, has led to major discoveries. For example, imagine if Sir Isaac Newton, just never questioned why the apple fell from the tree, then we would never know that something like gravity exists. Imagine if people unquestionably accepted that the Earth is flat, we would yet be thinking that there is a point on the earth after which there’s nothing. Imagine if no one would ever try to think what is beyond this world, then we would never be able to discover space or the moon or the other planets.

Questioning accepted wisdoms, questioning everyday processes, questioning why everything happens the way it does, is what helps us grow. Questioning is the ability that we humans have that most other species on this Earth do not. Reasoning, rationality, logic is what separates us from the rest of the species. These cognitive abilities is the reason why we dominate the world and we do not live on an Earth dominated by sheep.

Do not be a follower. Following is the easiest thing to do. It is questioning that takes effort. It might be a strenuous task to question, but it is only those who question, that leave a mark on the world. Herd mentality must be reduced. We have been given a brain to think and question. We must use it and deepen our understanding of the world.