Scandals-whether in politics, academia, or other area-can be useful. They focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are virtually ubiquitous; aside from politics, even in scientific academia, the one that is often deemed the most objective field, is a various type of scandals. I personally agree with the statement that scandals truly have some advantages in drawing the attention of people in its whimsical but unique way.

Granted, scandals can often have a negative impact on society. For example, in case of dealing with COVID, the scandal associated with the vaccine hampered the US government to ameliorate the problems with the public health and the economy. When Moderna invented the groundbreaking mRNA vaccine, some hidebound politicians and partisans deliberately slandered that it is ineffective, or even noxious, to the patients who suffer from COVID. Consequently, nearly half of the US citizens did not get vaccinated, and this lagged the US’s overcoming the pandemic. As this example reveals, there are some occasions where negative ramifications are produced by scandals.

Nonetheless, it should be noted that scandals often inform us the hitherto neglected issues. The issue regarding the scientific integrity might epitomize this perspective. It is now considered to be granted that nearly every scientific articles should undergo a punctilious peer-review process, but in fact the reviewing process was engendered by a serious of scandal of the data manipulation. Furthermore, the recent issue about the papers of high-temperature superconductivity and Majorana zero mode that were withdrawn from one of the most prominent scientific journal has also contributed to the increase of the research ethnics of the science academia. Owing to their high prominence, the fact that most of the data of them were manipulated has shocked the entire scientific society, leading the tendency of high-profile journals’ requiring the authors to provide the raw data that can reproduce the results of the paper. Therefore, scandals can contribute to society in a positive way by disseminating the issue regarding itself.

In summary, albeit scandals can give negative results to the society, it can also give merits through informing citizens about the problem. Therefore, rather than simply dismissing scandals, people should try to understand the underlying issue that triggered them.