Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt states one of the benefits of scandal as being able to emphasize on the problems in a way which otherwise no speaker or reformer can. A scandal is an immoral act which can cause a public outrage. Scandals help bring the misconstrued reality about people into the public eyes. Certainly, one can agree with statement after the following reasons are considered.

Scandals do divert people’s attention to themselves. They expose the activities that are generally surreptitious in an attempt to expose the reality behind the events. Many a times, it leads to the public outrage and creates a negative image of the people involved in it. Scandals make people focus on problems in a different way, that is, by the means of exposing the reality. For example, the Watergate scandal, which is one of the most notorious scandals in USA, caught a lot of public attention and is the one of those scandals that made a huge impact. This scandal made Richard Nixon, the President of USA at that time, to resign from the office.

Scandals offer an alternative way to draw public attention which even the renowned speakers or reformers cannot. This is certainly true as scandals tend to expose the reality which is kept secretive usually by the means of videos, images, and documents. These, in contrast to the words spoken by reformers, are certainly a stronger proof for the immoral acts. Proofs which are undeniable would obviously gain more attention than the mere words, which are hard to believe as they can be driven by acrimony.

Scandals, even though they tend to cause people focus on the existing problems such as bribery, are not useful everytime. This is because they tend to expose the problems and not solve them. Scandals have brought out the events happening behind the scenes such as bribery, racial inequalities, and a lot more, but has done a little to solve them. This is because it is completely dependent on the people who are in charge of taking severe actions. For example, if no action is taken on a scandal that tends to expose a specific case of bribery, then, even though it did expose a particular person, it did no harm to him/her. These kind of scandals then become a waste. Also, a scandal just brings a particular case to the people’s eyes, but it cannot solve the problems that are pre-existing as they are generic.

Summing up all of the above paragraphs, one can say that scandals do help bring the furtive activities into the limelight in a way that no speaker or reformer ever could. Although sometimes, it is not useful, but generally it exposes the people mired in it thus bringing people’s attention on the prevailing problems. Therefore, one can agree with this prompt about scandals.