Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and arts when school buildings are need of repair.

The author claims that when school buildings need to be repaired then the schools should two things: prioritize these maintenance jobs and raise the fund for these maintenance jobs from reducing funds from extracurricular activities. It is no doubt that the school authorities have to make a difficult choice between the two options, but it would be hasty to put into place a written policy that the fund for repairing jobs must be arrange by curtailing the funds for sports and arts. There are other avenues for the school authority for collecting fund for repairing tasks. The primary job of the school is to deliver quality education to the students, but at the same time it is also of paramount importance for the students to take part in sports and literature activities for the mental development. Therefore, before curtailing funds from sports and arts for doing repairing tasks, the schools should meticulously consider whether the repairing jobs are inhibiting the school to provide education to the students.

For example, if a school’s heating system breaks down during winter or the roof weakens then clearly the school will need to perform these maintain jobs immediately because these things prevent the school from providing education to the student. As the first and foremost job of any school is to provide education to students, so these things which prevent the school from doing so need to be repaired immediately. In this case, the school authority may consider to cut budget for sports and arts and that fund can be used for maintenance job.

Alternatively, suppose the building needs to be repainted and in this case the school authority should not use money from the budget of the extracurricular activities. Because the nature of repainting is aesthetic and it does not inhibits the school from giving quality to students. Though, these kind aesthetic jobs are also important. But repainting need not to do immediately, so the authority may collect fund from other sources or the school authority may consider to the building every six years instead of every four years.

The examinations of these two hypothetical examples allow us to reveal a problematic assumption with the original assertion. The school always faces the dilemma of between funding school repairing tasks and extracurricular funding. If significant necessary repairs are needed then there are other avenues for collecting funds: government grants, bonds, fund raising programs etc.

In conclusion, the author’s assertion is too narrowly drawn. It is entirely possible to cut funding to some extra programs when it faces difficulties in collecting fund for the repairing task which interfere with academics if not addressed immediately. After all, the school must first deliver education to achieve it’s objectives. For other kind of repairing jobs which does not inhibit the school to provide academics to students, the school should not cut down the funds of sports and arts.