Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects

of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the

position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used

to challenge your position.

In today's world, freshly graduated students are expected to be nothing less them perfect. One could say that they are left on their own to deal with all the challenges life throws their way with nothing but thier knowledge of maths, science, and other academically-centred subjects. But I argue, how can you expect these young students to know things like how to get a job, if you don't teach them how? This type if knowledge isn't something you can just expect them to know. It is the responsibility of academic institutions to prepare it's students to deal with all aspects of life.

I agree with the claim that schools should take more steps to educate students in non-academic aspects of adulthood. These can include a variety of subjects such as sex education, filing taxes, protection against cyber fraud, and even moral values like empathy and honesty. For the holistic development of the students, and to prepare them to face the viscitudes of life, it is their best interest to include such aspects into their school education. After all, the aim of education is not just to prepare machines who can solve math problems and recite history topics; it is to prepare all-round developed individuals who can contribute to society as a whole.

However I do not suggest that schools should immediately include all aspects mentioned above in their curriculum, losing focus on academics. I do not attempt to undermine the value of acedemics. Both academic and non-academic education should go hand-in-hand.

Some people might argue that it is not in the interest of schools to educate students in matters that would not directly contribute to the academic performance of the student, and thus enhance the reputation of the school. Further, they might also suggest that it is the responsibility of the students' family (especially mothers) to enculcate such moral values in their child. This, however, would not be possible in case of orphans or with children whose both parents at working full-time.

In conclusion, I belive that inculcating non-academic aspects in school curriculum would prove to be beneficial for the development of a well-educated society. It would give rise to individuals who would be well-aware of how to survive in a world where it is crucial to be independent and efficient.