“Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’ almost invariably
prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described
as ‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.”
At face value, the belief that “one should look upon any information described as
‘factual’ with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future,” seems
ludicrous almost to the point of threatening anarchy. Yet not only does this belief
prove well justified, it is also the linchpin around which our complex, highly technical
society creates and consolidates its advances.
Science itself provides the best evidence and examples in support of this statement.
One need look no further than contemporary medicine to see how far we have
come from the days when illness was perceived as a sign of moral weakness or as
a punishment from on high. In fact, the most outstanding characteristic of what
we call “the scientific method” amounts to endless questioning of received theory
in search of a more comprehensive explanation of what we perceive to be true. This
iterative style of inquiry (and re-inquiry) perpetuates an ongoing scientific dialogue
that catalyzes further breakthroughs in the developed world.
Furthermore, advances made through constant questioning are not limited to the
scientific arena: The skeptical attitudes of ancient Greek philosophers, as well as
those of Renaissance mariners, 19th century suffragists, and 20th century civil
rights activists, have left the world a richer and more hopeful place. By refusing to
accept the world as explained by contemporary “fact,” these doubters helped give
birth to societies and cultures in which human potential and accomplishment have
been enabled to an unprecedented degree.
In contrast, those societies that cultivate adherence to received belief and a
traditional non-skeptical approach have advanced very little over the centuries.
In Tibet, for instance, the prayer wheels spin endlessly around a belief system as
secure and unquestioning as the Himalayas themselves. While there may very well
be things worth learning from such a society, Tibet has proven to lack adaptability
and expansiveness and prefers to turn inward, away from the modern world. Such
introspection has given Tibet neither immunity nor an array of defenses in the face
of contemporary medical, social, and political problems. Thus, cultural inflexibility
regarding received wisdom and convention comes with a price.
To conclude, it seems clear from the above discussion that a healthy skepticism
remains the hallmark of Western epistemology as we face the future. A close look at
the statement reveals that it is not advocating the wholesale rejection of orthodox
thinking, but rather that we be open to redefining our assumptions. As the basis of
our resiliency and creativity, this attitude offers the most positive prognosis for a
society that revels in the solution of conundrums that its own constant questioning
brings continually into view.