Skill alone, no matter how great, does not guarantee a masterpiece

Have you ever wondered why even though Bill and Clinton are the ones you could approach for a mechanic job, you will always prefer one to the other? Maybe you may have thought about approaching Clinton but you find out he actually does not have a university degree, But Bill, on the other hand, is both a mechanic and a university graduate in Mechanical engineering and has done a bit of university research in the field and has made a name for himself. I guess it’s safe to say that more people will be seen navigating toward Bill while making the effort to consciously avoid Clinton for the sake of errors. The prompt recommends that even the greatest skill cannot guarantee a masterpiece. Well in my view, I strongly agree with this stance and argue that there is a lot more one has to do, in order than merely having the skills to be able to master a thing for the following reasons.

A person’s character says all about a person, a certain type of character frequently updated to what is most needed is a very necessary key for success. Many times people would tell you all you have to do is master the skill, I agree with that, but you also need to master a good character in order to be able to properly deliver the skill. Take for example Cristiano Ronaldo, He is one of the most skillful football players to ever grace the 21st century, however possessing these great skills is not the only cause of his success. Cristiano is a disciplinarian that has always kept to time while training, is always the first to take a lead role for the team, and fires other players to do the same. I can correctly tell you that his disciplined character is one of the reasons many football clubs want him and the reason for his success. From the life of Cristiano, I can say that good character in addition to being highly skillful is necessary for success.

Furthermore, it is usually said that the ring of connections that a person keeps is likely going to be a limiting factor for them. A person can possess the skills required to be successful, however, is not properly connected and managed and might end up not being successful. Nigeria as a country has suffered from this. From the early 1900s up until now, Nigeria as a country has lost a lot of skillful individuals because these individuals in those times did not have a plethora of necessary management and connections in order to be successful. The scenario is a living case. It explains that one can be very skillful but become less successful than a non-skilled person in a particular field only because he is not connected to or managed by the right persons or set of people. In cases like this, we can see that being highly skillful is not enough.

People say that once you have the skills, it’s in you forever and you can never lose the skills, and definitely one day, it is going to pan out properly for you. This may sound as somewhat true and correct but it has been confirmed that many skillful people live in abject poverty, regardless of what skill area they are in. It brings me to the conclusion that having the Skill is a great start, but most of the time, it is not enough.