"College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field"

The rate of unemployment all over the world is increasing, leading to a large population of unemployed people. The number of students that graduate every year adds to the pool of unemployed people as the competition for jobs is high, leaving most of them without jobs. The prompt argues that students should select a course of study based on the availability of jobs that require the expertise from that course of study. I mostly agree with this for the two reasons outlined below. However, I do concede that, allowing passion to drive the choice of a field of study allows people to live happily and fulfilled with themselves.

To begin, students should choose a course of study based on the availability of jobs, because college tuition is expensive, and a lot of money is spent for four to five years of college education. For example, the cost of college in the United States is about a hundred thousand dollars, and going to college to study a course that its application in the real world has waned or even obsolete is considered wasteful. Additionally, students and their guardians often pay through the nose and run into debts in student loans just to get the college tuition paid, and such debts should not be incurred on a course that will not guarantee a job upon graduation. These debts take years to pay, and students need jobs to raise money to clear the loans accrued for their education. In a nutshell, it is pertinent to carefully consider the availability of jobs in a particular field before proceeding to take the pains of paying to be trained in such a field.

Secondly, students should properly consider their chances of getting a job before selecting a field of study, because they should consider the unavailability of jobs and seek to go for courses that will make them job providers and not seekers. For instance, a career in the tech industry has proven to be lucrative over the years. For example, Mark Zuckerberg, through a career in the tech space, has not only made something good for himself but has also provided jobs for millions of people. Also, Elon Musk has been able to escape the unemployed tag through his career in tech. Students should consider the fact that if they pursue a career in a field with low availability of jobs, they will not be making a difference but joining the other unemployed people. One of the purposes of education should be to alleviate people from suffering and not to aggravate it, and hence students should strive to assuage their unavailability of jobs by considering it when applying to colleges.

Admittedly, passion should drive people to pursue a career, as following one’s passion in a particular field of study regardless of whether there are jobs or not contributes greatly to fulfilment in life. For instance, doing something that one really loves can help to make a person feel satisfied with life and have a sense of contentment. For example, scientists that pursue a “not-so-lucrative" career in academia and research relative to some other more lucrative careers in business, technological industry and the likes are also contributing immensely to the world doing what they love to do.

In conclusion, students should consider the availability of jobs in making a choice of a field of study but should also try to strike a balance as they do not want to have a job, they are not happy with.