Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teachers play a crucial role in the academic prowess of students. They help to build not only the foundational knowledge of the students in academic concepts but also kindle their interest in a specific field of study. The prompt proposed that teachers should be paid salaries on the basis of the academic achievements of their students. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion and argue that teachers should be salaries commensurate to the performance of their students academically for two reasons.

The efficiency of humans in performing an assigned task is often times linked to a reward. Payment of teachers' salaries on the basis of the academic performances of their students will increase their enthusiasm to do their jobs sternly. Teaching as a day job can become banal to an individual, especially when the person is doing it to make ends meet and is not really passionate about it. For instance, most teachers are stereotypic in their teaching methods, and they often times do not make any efforts to improve their skills. This in turn affects students' learning, as the learning process becomes monotonous to them and this may be egregious to their performance academically. If teachers are paid on the basis of students' academic performance, they are most likely to become more creative in their teaching methods. They will develop more fun and engaging ways to impact knowledge in their students, so as to play their role in their students' learning efficiently.

Furthermore, payment of teachers' salaries on the grounds of the student's academic performance, will make teachers more attentive to the specific needs of their students in learning. This will propel them to develop a more personal bond with their "weak" students and try to carry them along with fast learners in the class. For instance, different students learn in different ways. Some are auditory learners, some visual learners, some verbal learners, and others are kinaesthetic learners (they learn by experimentation). Teachers will become meticulous with their teaching techniques, so as not to leave some students behind in the course of teaching. They will ensure to balance practical teaching methods with theoretical teaching ones, in other to accommodate all the different kinds of learners in the classroom. Teachers will also be more dynamic in testing students' knowledge of taught concepts.

However, this may not be fair in all cases of poor students' academic performance. This is because the academic performance of a student does not rest solely on the efforts or teaching methods of a teacher. Students also have a germane role to play in their academic success, as some students do not try to practice what they have been taught on their own for better understanding. And as such, it will be unfair to teachers that have put tremendous effort into teaching their students to get paid on the basis of the performance of apparently frivolous students.