The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

The governance and policies of a country usually reflects on its citizens, as the burden of how strict or lenient the rules and regulations are borne by the citizens. The prompt argues that the impact of a country’s leadership is most suitably indicated by the citizens well-being. I mostly agree with this for two reasons that will be outlined below. However, I do concede that certain citizens usually do not conform to this because of their socioeconomic status.

To begin, the competence of leaders is usually displayed in how well the citizens of the country are doing. This is because leaders play a very important role in healthcare policies and education quality, and these apparently have a tremendous impact on the well-being of citizens. For example, health professionals will argue that a robust primary healthcare service that provides the essential health needs for the people is crucial to health promotion. A country whose leaders do not allocate enough funds to boost the health care settings and services delivered to the citizens, will mostly have a lot of sick people in its population. Furthermore, provision of quality education, for instance, will most likely increase the opportunities available to citizens. Access to quality school facilities and sound teachers will expose the citizens, particularly the younger generation, to more opportunities to become better adults and this would ultimately translate into a better well-being for them. If a country is filled with sick and uneducated people, they would apparently become a liability, not just to themselves but to the society, thus, an improved quality of life, which comes of better healthcare and education infrastructure is a good measure of the competence of a country’s leaders.

Secondly, the effectiveness of leadership is important to the well-being of citizens because leaders who promote good international relationships would apparently increase the security of the country and its citizens, and thus promote their well-being. For instance, when a country is at peace with its neighboring countries, some people would argue that this reduces the likelihood of war and keeps the country in a peaceful state. Also, leaders who promote strong foreign relations tend to provide more opportunities for citizens via international trade and also increase the revenue for the country as tourists come to visit the country. For example, if citizens pay less tax on international trade, this will provide more lucrative opportunities for them and also contribute to the economic growth of the country. By promoting good international relations, citizens are able to trade with and travel to other countries with less restrictions, this fosters adventure and allows people to learn new things thus promoting their well-being.

Admittedly, there are some citizens that do well regardless of the effectiveness of the leadership of the country at a particular time, this is because they belong to the wealthy class in the country and appear to be relatively unaffected by leadership incompetence. For example, whether or not healthcare services are expensive they are about to afford it, and if a particular health service is not available in their country, they can afford to travel to get it. They can also afford a good quality of education, whether available in the country or not, and thus their well-being is apparently not affected by the competence of the leaders of the country.

To conclude, I argue that the well-being of the citizens is a good measure of the effectiveness of a country's leadership for the two reasons outlined above. But I do admit that it is not always the case as some citizens remain unaffected regardless of how well the leaders are doing to make the country a good place to live for everyone.