Society should prepare young people with cooperation, not competition.

Becoming a leader in today's society can be brutal. In school, young people spend countless hours on school, internships, and jobs in order to garner leadership skills that may reward them with lucrative careers in the future. These careers, some believe, would be more easily attainable in a society without as much stringent competition. This conception, however, is flawed, ignoring the benefits of competition in the growth of youths for two distinct reasons. First, competition is extremely important for young minds as it prepares them for the real world. Leadership positions in fields such like government, industry, finance, and education are not easy to attain, and people spend many years refining themselves and their work in order to begin their careers. Even after this training, after the prestigious programs that many well-qualified individuals attend, many individuals still struggle to find a job position that suites them. Through rigorous training, only the most competitive people are able to aquire these top-teir jobs and to work well under their stressful conditions. Because of the amount of competition in the real world, society must train young people to thrive under similarly stressful, competitive conditions. Furthermore, competition allows people to showcase themselves in the best way possible, and perhaps even find themselves. No human is perfect, and everyone has flaws. People well-versed in competition know this, and know how to best present themselves in order to mitigate the effect of these flaws on their perception. For example, top football teams like the New England Patriot's have their weaknesses, but their strongsuits (notably, players like Tom Brady and Rob Gronkowski) are able to hide these weaknesses so that the team seems virtually infallible. Extrapolating this same mindset to the individual, being able to recognize one's flaws and move past them, bolstering their own weak spots with their strengths, is something that can only be learned through competition. Finally, while it is true that cooperation has a place in the education and training of young people, and it should be integrated into the structure of these same systems, it it does not compare to the benefits of a competitive environment. It is without question that society is unequitable between different groups of people, and this inequity should be addressed, however, past this, competition is more helpful to start careers in the first place. Cooperation is a skill that is vital to people in leadership roles, but it is vital for them to execute their roles effectively. On the other hand, competition is vital for them to attain the roles in the first place. Though cooperation is an important skill for young people to learn, it should exist within a competitive environment. There is clear validity to the mindset that cooperation allows youths to grow and develop productively, however, this mindset ignores the fact that in the adult world, not everyone gets a trophy. In order to be the best selves the can be, society's structure should mimic that of a flousishing economy: heavy competition, where the best product, business, and individuals rise to the top.