“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Mayor of Hillview is proposing to the City Council that they start a campaign to convince Autotech to build a car manufacturing company in the Hillview lot, and that they offer the company "significant tax incentives" in order to incentivise the campaign. The Mayor argues that this will be able to decrease unemployment in Hillview, providing jobs for the many individuals who lost their jobs last year when Computech closed. This suggestion has the potential to reduce the economic crisis in Hillview, the Mayor makes three assumptions in his memo that need to be addressed before this campaign is considered. In addition to this, more information is needed about the city of Hillview and its economic need.

First, the Mayor assumes that the reisdents of Hillview who lost their jobs lasy year are qualified to work in the auto-industry. The Mayor suggests that residents of the city who worked in computer software programming will be able to work in Autotech's new building as staff. This assumption lacks vital evidence needed before the City Council makes their decision. If the residents of Hillview have not recieved the necessary training in manufacturing, Autotech's new manufacturing plant will likely go out of business, creating a great economic burden for the city. Residents of the city must be qualified in industry work in order for this campaign to be lucrative, and the Mayor has not yet done enough research on this matter.

Furthermore, the Mayor assumes that the city's economic system will be able to function after giving Autotech "significant tax incentives," which are not explicitly made clear. These tax incentives, likely tax breaks to the company, would allow the company to gain extreme amounts of revenue without contributing to the town that the manufacturing plant is based. As a result of this, the town would likely suffer greatly, and would not be able to provide the infrastructure needed to keep the manufacturing plant operable. The Mayor needs to demonstrate that these economic incentives to Autotech will not harm the financial integrity of the city before this proposal is considered.

Finally, the Mayor assumes that Autotech needs to build a new manufacturing plant, and that it will be economically lucrative in the long run. It is possible that Autotech is outsourcing manufacturing outside of the country because of the financial benefit, and that the company is in need of another manufacturing plant. This assumption also includes the caveat that the city may not be suitable for industry at all. Computech closed for a reason, and if the Mayor must explain this reason in his proposal to ensure that Autotech will not fall into the same issues that it did when it operated in Hillview. Until this evidence is suggested, the City Council should spend more time looking into different city-wide needs.

While this proposal could be extremely profitable to the town, generating jobs, lowering unemployment, and generating the city much-needed revenue, more information is needed before it is considered. The Mayor must address these assumptions and consider them before proposing the campaign to the City Council, as more information is needed before they can make a decision. Without adjustments made to the recommendation, stakeholders in the town of Hillview should not consider this recommendation. It is far too risky for them, and more evidence is needed for them to make a decision.