Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Competition is a term that has different meanings to different people. For, some it is a highly negative word that hampers the sole cause of an action for others it is a way that inspires and motivates them to move forward in life. Success can be achieved by having a strong vision and determination. People who have the willingness to push their limits and are ready to run in the race of winning can only survive in this today’s world mouse and cat race. According to me, industries and government should be highly competitive to do good to the country and bring forward several revolutions.

Firstly, industries have to have a competitive outlook to have a strong stand in today’s meteorically changing world. To illustrate, there is a constant technology feud between Samsung and Apple. They are constantly outwitting each other in terms of their phone display, sound quality, and better features. This acts as a driving force continuously motivating both the company leaders to take projects of high ambitions. The companies constantly try to achieve a project that can bring about a technological revolution. In this way, the companies are coming up with products that are highly beneficial to the entire world. Had, there been one single ruling technology company with no competitors the growth would have been stagnant as the company does not feel the threat of losing its market. A similar case can be seen between Mercedes and Ford the two-car manufacturing joints who go head to head in bringing the world’s comfort to a driver of their car.

Secondly, government leaders need to have a competitive sense of mind as it helps them undertaking or approving projects which will place them on a global platform. If a country’s leader is satisfied that their country is performing well, this sense is the point where a country progress starts deteriorating. For example, consider the race going on between world astronomical research and development team to make astonishing discoveries about Mars, galaxy and black hole. The feeling of competition to reach the information first is the oil that makes scientists spend day and night in their office. Similarly, the feeling of competition and proving their country’s talent in the Olympics and other International games are the driving force of the sports department of the country. If the Sport minister lacks the desire to win. He/she will not be able to motivate his/her player and would not bring in world-class trainers to train their players leading to the ultimate downfall of the entire Sports department.

Admittedly, cooperation is required to get the task get then faster and the leaders should be willing to listen and cooperate with its subordinates and fellow workers. A leader should have the willingness to listen to the changes suggested by their employees. But, it is also equally important for him to set priorities and be in the race of competition to get his/her goals achieved. If a leader is struck between making cooperation with all its employees it might be not able to conquer the set target.

Even though cooperation among people plays a key role in people’s success but having a competitive mind is a must. A leader must be strong enough to take actions and decisions necessary to achieve the set goals. The desire to win the race is a strong way to motivate people to push their boundaries and limitations. It also helps people continuously thinking and growing in the process to outwit others bringing about great revolutions and high technology in the country.