Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Increasing student’s efficiency in the classroom has been debatable topic for a while now, the answer to which is not a trivial one. The prompts presents two contrasting views pertaining to the said efficiency of students. One of them suggests competition as the primary element of student success in the classroom, while the other attributes competition as a limiting factor. I moderately agree with the later due to two reasons.

To begin with, humans are diverse species possessing different capabilities to cope up with various situations. While some students can take classroom competition as a healthy medium to excel in studies, it would be common for the majority of others to be highly intimidated by it. For instance, if a student were mostly productive in a rather slow-paced and helping environment, he or she would not be able to perform well in a competitive environment. The student might also feel out of place, distressed and frustrated, all of which will result in a decline of student’s progress in studies. This example illustrates that while a few might benefit from such environment, there is still a high chance that the majority will suffer. Therefore, in hopes of increasing student productivity, the school management is likely to be disappointment by the results.

Further, students competing with one another can only compete to get the highest possible marks. The question that we need to answer is, are marks representative of accurate conceptual understanding of a student? For instance, a student can get good marks by just rote memorization of the topic, rather than a conceptual understanding of it. This gives an edge to the students who are naturally good at memorizing things and a disadvantage to those who focus on practically looking at what they learn in the classroom. This scenario depicts that grades are not a true image of what students learn in the class, giving a false basis of correlating grades with student’s success. Therefore, students aiming to study conceptually might feel compelled to change their ways to study in order secure better grades, ultimately inhibiting their real learning. Hence, the idea of inculcating competition inside a classroom with a motive to improve student’s grades seems flawed.

Concluding, there are many metrics at play that determine student success in a classroom. It is very difficult to be binary here and vouch for a single metric. Additionally, there is no such thing as a ‘one-size-fits-all’ solution that can work for every student. Nevertheless, competition can often lead to an unhealthy environment, advantageous to a few but detrimental to the progress of many other students.