Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel

in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality

of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Healthy competition always results in development. If we observe a group of students belonging to some discipline, competition for grades motivates students to study the subject, at least for the sake of scoring in the exams. In case the exam is well-designed, students would make sure to study every nook and corner of the subject to ensure high grades. Grades also work as a reinforcing factor for studies, as good grades result in greater respect among peers and teachers, and gives the student another reason to study the subject seriously.

From ancient times, it has been found that the teacher uses various methods for testing the studetnts’ grasp over the subjects learnt. Earlier, the subjects and hence the exams used to be more practice oriented whereas today we find more number of theory oriented tests, which aim to check the student’s theoretical knowledge in the field. The common motive among all these kinds of testing methodologies has always been ensuring that a student revises whatever he learns from the teacher often enough to memorise it and understand its use and significance. So, as the student prepares for the various tests prepared by the teacher, he/she keeps getting better at the subject and excels in it.

The real world in full of competition. When the student completes his/her studies to pursue some job in the real world, he/she would be met with numerous instances where the his/her progress would be graded by the superiors. The urge to excel in this grading would again be beneficial for the student to progress in the job at hand.

But sometimes this desire to perform better in the exams prompts the student to go in the wrong direction. He/she starts using all sorts of malpractices like copying during exam, which completely undermines the importance of the tests. Eventually, the student ends up becoming good at deception and cheating rather than becoming a scholar in the subject. Later, when he/she takes up some job, either the student would end up losing the job, or lead to severe damage to the company.

Hence, simply luring students to perform good in exams is not very effective. The teacher must make sure that the student understands the motivation behind studying the subject and gradually develops interest in it. This would ensure that the quality of learning is not affected in the process of grading the student. Thus, healthy competition for grades among students should be part of the learning process, but the teacher should try to present the subject in an interesting manner, so that student is not simpy forced to study the subject for getting high grades.