Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel

in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality

of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In today's competitive world it is important to have a competitive nature. A healthy competition can help students excel in the classroom, but an unhealthy competition can distract students from real learning. Thus, the prompt provides us with the controversial topic that whether the competition motivates students to excel or limit the quality of real learning. I mostly agree with the view that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom for the following two reasons, but I do concede, that if the competition becomes unhealthy it can limit the quality of real learning.

First of all, the competition motivates students to learn more effectively. The competition for high grades helps the students to set a target, it also motivates students to study harder than others. For example, the students who compete for high grades study more for few extra marks so that they can excel in the class, however, the students that do not compete for higher grades study only to pass the exams. If the student does not compete to get higher grades, then he or she tend to lack motivation and are not able to excel in their class. Therefore, it is necessary that students should compete for higher grades in healthy manner to improve their performance.

Furthermore, education systems also promote competitive environment, it ensures that the students work hard and learn more. This helps students to cope up with the curriculum that they learn in higher studies. For example, the standardized tests provide students with percentile, that denotes the number of students ahead and behind a particular student. These percentiles motivate students to learn with perseverance. The competition to get the highest percentiles can motivate students to practice more questions and learn the concepts more deeply. Hence, the students should pursue high grade to excel.

However, I do admit that unhealthy competition can limit the quality of real learning, the student focus will shift from learning to only scoring higher grades than other students. For example, a student who learns only to score higher grades and does not understand the concepts will face problem in the future. Although, a person learning the concepts but scoring relatively low will be more successful. The fundamentals play a major role in learning, and the students that ignore the fundamentals and just focus on grades are likely to face problems as the subjects become more complex and tedious. Thus, competition which limits the quality of real learning should be avoided by the students.

In conclusion, I do agree that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom for the two-reason outlined above. But I do concede that unhealthy competition can distract a student from the main focus that is learning.