Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

In the modern world, where numbers always talk, people compete to excel in their performance to take a higher score and place higher level than others. The speaker asserts that this issue works in schools as well; students are willing to take high grades and this matter motivates them to have a good performance in the classroom and study well. However, on the other side of the spectrum, others believe that competition for high grades not only does not play a motivative role for students but also inhibits the quality of real learning. I strongly agree with the first group for two main reasons, which I will illustrate in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the innate human being is tied up with the competition. In fact, without the competitive characteristics, humans could not reach today's modern-technological societies. Trying to have a better and easier life is always a good motivator for the human being to work hard to achieve. In other words, showing superiority over others is a good reason for people to do their best. In an academic area such as a school, this competitiveness shows in getting high grades. Personally speaking, I believe that the grades that strongly tied with good academic and scientific performances are not only inhibit learning but open new doors in the world of knowledge and science that steadfast students can open up.

Secondly, students need to measure their attempts quantified and courage for their nice try. Without measurements such as grades, we cannot show the result of their attempts during the term and they may even lose the right way of studying. So, with competition for high grades students run in the way of progressing rather than driving on a road without any certain purpose or orientation.

However, Some intellectuals believe that students who are more susceptible to being stressed because of this competition for high grades, could be harmful and limit their true learning during the stressful-competitive setting. I think, nevertheless, this assertion would be true in some aspects, it is the perspicacity of a teacher or educator to set a study place where innocuous competitive flows rather than baneful and stressful one.

To sum up, competitiveness is a genetic characteristic of human beings and it is so useful to motivate them to work better. Also, students need to see the consequences of their performance to detect the right way to progress. And last but not least, it is the wisdom of a teacher to make a healthy atmosphere in the class that avoids students from becoming stressed.