Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations affect the societies and environment where they operate in one way or the other. Where some people believe it is their responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environment where they operate, others believe that they should only make money provided they operate within the law. I strongly believe that corporations should work towards ameliorating society since they play a huge part in it. There are two reasons for the same.

Firstly, there has been numerous studies that show people who are happy at their work do a better job at it. For instance, Microsoft is a company that goes by the mission 'To Empower every person and every organization on the planet to achieve more' . Employees are attracted not only by the work they do but also by the support and promise of taking care of the wellbeing of their employees. If it had only worked towards making money and nothing else, it would not have been in the position it is today.

Another example we can take from this company or any major company nowadays is that they believe in giving back to society. Employees can donate their time or money towards a social cause and the company will match its donations. It enables society to grow. This in turns gains the company the respect they need in the corporate world.

Others might say that monetary benefit is the only thing company should be focussing on but they fail to realize that most majority of common people run by emotions. The respect, the corporation has more is the monetary benefit in the long run. People would deviate away from the products or services of a corporation that does not promote the wellbeing of the societies and environment. Only the giving back attitude would ameliorate the environment.

In conclusion, each and every one of us has a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and the environments around us.