Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

From my point of view, every country citizen shares his own portion of responsibility for his actions. The same should apply to corporations: essentially groups of people, united by the same goal. As corporations grow they acquire more power and may start to significantly influence the well-being of the societies where they work. Correct government legal policies should thus restrain corporations from doing much harm accidentally.

First of all, there is an idea that the goal of corporations is only to make money of their businesses. I don’t agree with that. The similar egocentric vision, when applied to one human, is commonly treated as vicious. Why shouldn’t it be the case for corporations? For example, one of the global health problems in the world today is related to tobacco smoking. In the 20th century ‘scientific’ researches existed, that claimed the absence of any harm for humans caused by cigarettes. However, today we may know that these studies were fake and were promoted by the owners of large tobacco brands. It is hard to estimate exactly the amount of deaths (e.g. from lung cancer, chance of which, as we know today, is strongly corellated with smoking) for which these business holders are responsible for. However, they were lawsuited in the USA and penaltied for their deceptive claims.

Every huge company is responsible in some way for our health. Those companies that promote junky food advertising it as healthy, are certainly responsible for that - this, of course, doesn’t cancel the responsibility of any particular human who has chosen to eat this food. This thesis applies particularly to the pharmaceutic companies. During the pandemics in 2020, when the vaccine was not developed yet, there was a lot of advertisement of some medicals recommended to Covid-19 patients. All of those didn’t work because Covid-19 is virus and methods which work to resist bacterial diseases, don’t have any power against viruses. But nevertheless they were strongly promoted and a lot of people bought it for high prices, hoping for better. The pharma corporations that made profit out of this situations, should be faced with responsibility for their malicious actions.

Finally, I think that it would be extremely non-ethical to claim that corporations should care only about money. Both legal and ethical responsibility should be exerted upon those companies that try to make profit in deceptive and harmful ways.